Pencil, Notebook, Time.

I’ve done this kind of drawing a few times but I’ve rarely done one that I’ve given so much time to or wanted to keep a hold of as much as this one.
This picture, completed over three days in May, 2013, is one of the big reasons for my current desire to learn to paint. Whilst the monochrome really makes this picture work and serves the complexity of the relationship between each of the shapes, I think that the boldness of a strong colour choice would serve it better.
Still, I’m quite proud of this. From the large focal central point to the ‘blast wave’ at the bottom and the flame-shapes and phoenix-shapes, every component has a part to play in the picture.

Leave a Reply

